Mysterious Nativity / concert

Mysterious Nativity


Vytautas Miškinis, O salutaris hostia
Dimitri Tchesnokov, Three Sacred Songs opus 43 & Ave verum corpus opus 67 
Alfred Schnittke, Three Sacred Hymns 
Arvo Pärt, Magnificat & Salve regina
Georgy Sviridov, Mysterious Nativity & Sviatyï Boje
Petr Eben, Moto Ostinato


Les Métaboles (16 à 24 singers)
Denis Comtet, organ
Léo Warynski, musical direction

The program of the record Mysterious Nativity was born from the companionship that unites Les Métaboles with the composer Dimitri Tchesnokov. Released in 2014 with Brilliant Classics, it’s at the origin of this concert. The extremely hieratic aspect of the sound of the choir in this program makes one forget that the works are exclusively from the 20th and 21st centuries. This program is truly representative of Les Métaboles, which upholds the choral repertoire of all eras, including recent masterpieces little-known in France. Thus, the choir music of the elder of composers, Georgy Sviridov – almost born with the Russian Revolution in 1916 – extremely renowned in Russia but rarely sung in France, is represented with his sublime Mysterious Nativity.

The Three Sacred Songs by Dimitri Tchesnokov are his first work for a choir. The Russian born composer had in mind the Three Sacred Hymns composed in 1984 by his compatriot Alfred Schnittke.

O Salutaris by the Lithuanian Vytautas Miškinis is, outside of France, just as much of a classic for choirs, with its striking incantation effect placed in its centre. Incantation is also at the heart of the Sviatyï Bojede by Sviridov.

The Magnificat by Arvo Pärt, as well as the De Profundis and the Salve regina, are written in the style that made him famous and that he himself names “tintinnabuli”. Arvo Pärt is highlighting the inspiration that ringing bells represented for him. When one analyses closely their acoustic range, for a single audible pitch, they are composed of both consonances as well as dissonances.

Interlude for a solo organ in the middle of the concert, the Moto ostinato by the composer and organist Petr Eben, corresponds to the third movement of his Musica dominicalis and illustrates no less than a battle between Good and Evil, each characterized by its own theme. That of Evil, written in an improvised style, appears in different forms and tones during the piece, and ends up by prevailing over Good.

From the libretto of the record Mysterious Nativity

Dans la presse...

"A breathtaking immersion in the sacred music of the former soviet bloc"

DNA - Christian Wolff
 - Mysterious Nativity
08/10/2016

"A beautiful record (…) we recommend it to our listeners. "

France Musique, émission « En pistes » - Rodolphe Bruneau-Boulmier
 - Mysterious Nativity
12/03/2016

"This version is also the audience’s favourite "

France Musique « La tribune des critiques » - Jérémie Rousseau
 - Mysterious Nativity
11/10/2015

"A lovely homogeneity, "

Classica - Bernard Dermoncourt
 - Mysterious Nativity
12/12/2014

"There is no doubt as to the homogeneity of the ensemble. "

Diapason
 - Mysterious Nativity
12/10/2014

En vente sur le site...

Mysterious Nativity

Mysterious Nativity
Les Métaboles

Musical direction : Léo Warynski.
CD recorded in November 2013 at La Chapelle Saint-Louis (Paris)
Artistic direction and record : Jiri Heger

En savoir plus...
2019

August

August 24, 2019Mysterious nativityCité de la Voix à Vezelay
9h pm

Olfactory concert

The program of the record Mysterious Nativity was born from the companionship that unites Les Métaboles with the composer Dimitri Tchesnokov. Released in 2014 with Brilliant Classics it’s at the origin of this concert.

2018

June

Saturday June 16th 2018 Mysterious NativityAbbaye Saint-Vincent de Nieul-sur-l'Autise
21h

Olfactory concert

The program of the record Mysterious Nativity was born from the companionship that unites Les Métaboles with the composer Dimitri Tchesnokov. Released in 2014 with Brilliant Classics it’s at the origin of this concert.

2016

October

Tuesday October 4th 2016 Mysterious NativityFestival Musica - Église Saint-Pierre-le-Jeune de Strasbourg

Works for choir and organ by Pärt, Sviridov, Miskinis, Tchesnokov...
Les Métaboles
Organ
Léo Warynski, musical direction

Mysterious Nativity / concert

Mysterious Nativity


Vytautas Miškinis, O salutaris hostia
Dimitri Tchesnokov, Three Sacred Songs opus 43 & Ave verum corpus opus 67 
Alfred Schnittke, Three Sacred Hymns 
Arvo Pärt, Magnificat & Salve regina
Georgy Sviridov, Mysterious Nativity & Sviatyï Boje
Petr Eben, Moto Ostinato


Les Métaboles (16 à 24 chanteurs)
Denis Comtet, orgue
Léo Warynski, direction musicale

Du compagnonnage qui unit Les Métaboles au compositeur Dimitri Tchesnokov est né le programme du disque Mysterious Nativity, sorti en 2014 chez Brillant Classics et à l’origine de ce concert. L'aspect extrêmement hiératique que prend la sonorité du chœur dans ce programme fait oublier que nous sommes en présence exclusive d'œuvres des XXe et XXIe siècles. Un programme à l’image des Métaboles, qui défend le répertoire choral de toutes les époques, en n'oubliant pas les chefs-d'œuvre récents peu connus en France. Ainsi la musique pour chœur de l'aîné des compositeurs, Georgy Sviridov – né presqu'avec la Révolution russe, en 1916 – extrêmement reconnue en Russie mais peu chantée en France, se trouve représentée avec son sublime Mysterious Nativity.

Les Three Sacred Songs de Dimitri Tchesnokov sont sa première œuvre pour chœur. Le compositeur d'origine russe avait à l'esprit les Three Sacred Hymns de son compatriote Alfred Schnittke, composés en 1984.

O Salutaris du lituanien Vytautas Miškinis est, hors de France, tout autant un classique du répertoire pour chœur, avec son saisissant effet incantatoire placé en son centre. L'incantation est au centre également du Sviatyï Boje de Sviridov.

Le Magnificat d'Arvo Pärt, de même que le De Profundis et le Salve regina, sont écrits dans le style qui a rendu le compositeur célèbre et que lui-même appelle « tintinabule ». Arvo Pärt souligne par là l'inspiration qu'a représenté pour lui le tintement des cloches qui, quand on analyse de près le spectre sonore qui s'y déploie, se compose, pour une seule hauteur audible, de consonances et de dissonances.

Parenthèse pour orgue seul au cœur du concert, le Moto ostinato du compositeur et organiste Petr Eben correspond au troisième mouvement de sa Musica dominicalis et illustre pas moins qu’une bataille entre le Bien et le Mal, chacun caractérisé par son propre thème. Celui du Mal, écrit dans un style improvisé, apparaît sous différentes formes et tonalités au cours de la pièce, et finit par l’emporter sur le Bien.

D’après le livret du disque Mysterious Nativity

Dans la presse...

"une époustouflante immersion dans la musique sacrée de l’ancien bloc soviétique"

DNA - Christian Wolff
 - Mysterious Nativity
08/10/2016

"Un disque bien beau (...) à conseiller à nos auditeurs"

France Musique, émission « En pistes » - Rodolphe Bruneau-Boulmier
 - Mysterious Nativity (CD)
12/03/2016

"die faszinierendste Vokalmusik-Veröffentlichung des Jahres"

Brillant Classics - du chroniqueur Sal
19/11/2014

En vente sur le site...

Mysterious Nativity

Mysterious Nativity, par l’ensemble vocal Les Métaboles, sous la direction de Léo Warynski.
CD enregistré en Novembre 2013 à la Chapelle Saint-Louis (Paris)
Direction Artistique et enregistrement : Jiri Heger

En savoir plus...
2018

juin

Samedi 16 juin 2018Mysterious NativityAbbaye Saint-Vincent de Nieul-sur-l'Autise
21h

Concert olfactif

Du compagnonnage qui unit Les Metaboles au compositeur Dimitri Tchesnokov est ne le programme du disque Mysterious Nativity, sorti en 2014 chez Brillant Classics et a l'origine de ce concert.

2016

octobre

Mardi 4 octobre 2016Mysterious NativityFestival Musica - Église Saint-Pierre-le-Jeune de Strasbourg

Œuvres pour chœur et orgue de Pärt, Sviridov, Miskinis, Tchesnokov...
Les Métaboles
Orgue
Léo Warynski, direction musicale